• Recommended Posts

  • Browse By Category

  • Browse By Timeline

Story: Liked by God


I will share one more story today.

Long long ago there was a great king. One night he was sleeping and in his dreams he saw a monk writing something down.
“Who are you? And what are you writing?” the king asked
“I am making a list of people who love god. In this list there are kings who built many temples, there are rich people who offered great gifts to god, there are monks who prayed to god all their life.”
“Does my name appear in that list?”
“I am afraid not.”
“Thats alright. I understand. I mostly spend of my time delivering justice, building school and universities, and managing state affairs. I don’t belong to that list.” the king said. The monk disappeared and the dream ended.

The next night the same thing happened and the king saw the monk making a list.
“Would you like to know what is this list about?” the monk asked smiling.
The king nodded.
“Well, I am making the list of people liked by god. And o king, your name is at the top.”

To me this story represents Karma Yoga. God is best served by doing our everyday duties. People who entirely focus on rituals to please the God reduce him/her to the level of narcissist.

2 Responses

  1. This is an important message. People have a tendency to think that being religious matters but in reality it is how they treat others that matters.

  2. Kedar, I like this!

Leave a Reply

